My life in NZ in a nutshell – Part 5 (a): My days living like an inmate

After informing S that both JL and I would be working until the end of January, I knew the chance was slim for me to land on another paid job so I was on the active look out for exchange jobs instead to occupy my last three weeks in NZ. I had wished for a relaxing 3-week either by the beach or somewhere with stunning scenery. I sent out five exchange applications (some were on behalf of JL as well):-

  1. As cleaners at a backpackers, Mangawhai
  2. As tour guide at a historic prison, Napier
  3. As painters at Riverstone Backpackers, Turangi
  4. As receptionist at Sunflower Lodge, New Plymouth
  5. As cleaners at National Park Village, Tongariro National Park
Where to after Levin?

Where to after Levin?

(1) provided positive reply a few hours after I sent the application. JL and I were delighted that we could spend time together by the beach and could be in our bikinis!

But I received positive reply also from (2) on the next day but the prison needed only me as tour guide. So it was either I go to Mangawhai together with JL or to part with her and head to Napier on my own. JL was quite disappointed when I told her I was more attracted to becoming a tour guide because that’s an experience I am not likely to gain elsewhere. In the end, JL was willing to take her chance to see if the prison needed extra pair of hands to clean or do some odd jobs and would go to Napier together with me.

On Feb 1st: My farewell message read:- 

“Good bye Levin! Good bye zucchini! I’m moving on with heavy heart, gonna miss the nice people in the team!”

M picked us up from Napier’s I-site and we were checked in to the “penthouse”, a room which was originally the residence of the superintendent and was converted to cell in 1960s to house the Mongrel Mob members. JL and I became 2 of the staff of the prison who slept in cells and used facilities originally utilized by inmates!

The "penthouse"...

The “penthouse”… On a side note: I am surprised I actually did not take photo of the interior of my room!

The construction of the prison building was concluded in 1862. So it's now 151 years old!  Someone was buried standing up on your left of the wall...

The construction of the prison building was concluded in 1862. So it’s now 151 years old!
Someone was buried standing up on your left of the wall…

I had 2 challenges ahead for my days in the prison:

  1. to memorize the tour guide script which was of the length of 13 pages of A4 paper (default font setting!) in a week’s time before giving guided tour
  2. To brave the eerie ambience of the prison…. *spooky music playing in the background*
*gulp* 13 pages!

*gulp* 13 pages!

Duty roster for my first week in the prison :)

Duty roster for my first week in the prison 🙂

Fellow colleagues were very generous with all the prison-is-haunted stories. Project supervisor A even asked me to listen to the electronic audio guide which compiled all the paranormal stories but I avoided that at all costs.

One morning, Alanna came to me, “Sam, I had a rough night. Do you know what happened last night?”

Me: I don’t. Tell me.

Alanna: I was listening to my MP3 in my room. I heard Charlie’s voice approaching, so I planned to scare her when she passes by. Then something strange happened: the songs in my MP3 player, they kept shuffling! At first I thought it was because I accidentally press the “Next” button since the player was in my pocket. So I took the player out and put in on my palm and the shuffling won’t stop! I got freaked out! Nick passed by my room at that time and I got hold of him. The MP3 player was functioning normally when Nick was in my room. After he left, it shuffled again! I got really freaked out and I moved to Charlie’s room immediately. I think this is my retribution: the you-know-what was trying to teach me a lesson for my mischief!

Me: Oh my god! You shouldn’t have told me all these! I don’t think I can sleep well in my room alone now!!! 

JL shared a room with me for a week and then she left for her onion packing job. Then started the realms of my (bad) imagination… and insomnia… I couldn’t sleep well at night anymore! I slept switching on all lights in the room. I also scattered my lingerie all around my bed because it’s said to be able to ward off you-know-what. I was so afraid when I woke up in the middle of the night and I’d see SOMETHING lying next to me… when the night fell, I would avoid walking pass the corridor adjoining the kitchen to my room, where Alanna’s room is located.

The hanging yard, the least favorite place for me...

The hanging yard, the least favorite place for me…

The white enclosure = burial site for comprises the first 2 men hanged at the prison...

The white enclosure = burial site for comprises the first 2 men hanged at the prison…

I really do not like this eerie mural in the mess hall!

I really do not like this eerie mural in the mess hall!

shower place

shower place

Since the shower units are semi-open air, staff are only allowed to take shower after the prison is closed for visit i.e. from 5pm onward. When I took shower, I always brought along my phone and played music aloud to drown out other sounds because I did not want to be aware of any strange noise… Besides I always took shower with lightning speed because my mind kept playing the scenes from Ju-on! Scenes like having a hand pressing my head while I was shampooing my hair!

I mean this scene!

I mean this scene!

Me! My attire and props for tour-guiding. I think I did pretty lousy job. Sorry for those who were guided by me :p

Me! My attire and props for tour-guiding. I think I did pretty lousy job. Sorry for those who were guided by me :p

Part 1: Rotorua| Part 2a: Goodbye Rotorua! | Part 2b: Hello again, Auckland! | Part 3: Hello, South Island! (a) Queenstown (b) Te Anau (c) Milford Sound | Part 4: zucchini picking | Part 5: last bit of travelling (b) (c) (d)| Concluding remarks

0 Responses to “My life in NZ in a nutshell – Part 5 (a): My days living like an inmate”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I spot you, creativity!

Series #9 Light bulb reuse!

Reflection of the day

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Inside the glass bottle…

“I want to walk tall, believe in myself, have the courage to ask for what I want and need, and live a life that mattered. I want to wake up in the morning with a smile on my face and know that I am loved and that I belonged. I am desperate to feel worthy and I am hungry for the opportunity to live my fullest potential.” - modified from "The Dark Side of the Light Chasers" - Debbie Ford

Under the apple tree…

"If you are not spending all of your waking life in discontent, worry, anxiety, depression, despair, or consumed by other negative states; if you are able to enjoy simple things like listening to the sound of the rain or the wind; if you can see the beauty of clouds moving across the sky or be alone at times without feeling lonely or needing the mental stimulus of entertainment; if you find yourself treating a complete stranger with heartfelt kindness without wanting anything from him or her... it means that a space has opened up, no matter how briefly, in the otherwise incessant stream of thinking that is the human mind." - A New Earth, by Eckhart Tolle

Blog Stats since Dec 2010

  • 52,501 hits

Ich lese….

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The time keeper by Mitch Albom

The art of thinking clearly by Rolf Dobelli

The first phone call from heaven by Mitch Albom

Inferno by Dan Brown

For one more day by Mitch Albom

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose by Eckhart Tolle

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

A study in scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

The five people you meet in heaven by Mitch Albom

Have a little faith by Mitch Albom

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

To kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The Brain that Changes Itself by Norman Doidge

Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren

A Fresh Start by John Chapman

Inspiring quotes!

If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other? (God in "Evan Almighthy")
“To love another person is to see the face of God.” ― Victor Hugo, Les Misérables
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” -Mark Twain
Aggie: "But what about the people who hurt you? Don't you ever want to make them suffer?" Norman Babcock: "Well, yeah, but what good would that do? You think just because there's bad people that there's no good ones either? I thought the same thing for a while. But there's always someone out there for you. Somewhere." - Paranorman
"机遇总是偏爱有准备的人"
“You're only here for a short visit. Don't hurry, don't worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.” by Walter Hagen
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, body totally worn out and screaming "WOOOHOOOO what a ride!" - by anonymous
When you travel, it’s not like you take a part of each place away with you; rather, it’s as if you leave a part of yourself there, like a part of you forever belongs to that place – the time, the people, and the things you saw; and over time, it gets burned deeper into your soul - by anonymous

