Singapore: the sun, the beach and the jellyfish! – Part 3 (b)

Jellyfish’s waiting…

First view of the compound of the windsurfing centre

First view of the compound of the sailing school

The wind wasn't that constant actually :p

The wind wasn’t that constant actually :p

Our 3-hour windsurfing course began with the theory lesson, which was to cram our brains with all the windsurfing jargons. It was then followed by the simulation: to reinforce and to put what we had just learned to practice. I just couldn’t remember the nuances of sailing forward, backward, into the wind and away from the wind… I should have read this website beforehand since I am a slow learner of skills! After the water-confidence session, it’s show time! 🙂

the diligent students

the diligent students

Hi! I am Max, your instructor of the day!

Hi! I am Max, your instructor of the day!

Theory! Theory! Theory!

Theory! Theory! Theory!

Simulation! Simulation! Simulation!

Simulation! Simulation! Simulation!

All smiles before going into the sea

All smiles before going into the sea

Water confidence:- Max: everyone, show me your toes!

Water confidence:-
Max: everyone, show me your toes!

Actually, I did not need to go onto the sailboard and out in the sea to tell that I will suck at windsurfing because it involves a great deal of balancing skill and motor coordination! :p

This is too cool to for me! One day, one day! Haha

This is too cool for me! One day, one day! Haha

6 of us were sent as first batch out into the sea. Getting myself into the secure position was more challenging and tiring than I expected! I was always out of balance and either falling into the water forward or backward! Getting myself back up onto the sailboard was tiring too! Max, the instructor was too busy powerboat-ing around and I did not get to have his further guidance. We were all basically on our own learning after being sent out to the sea.

After I-forgot-how-many-falls, the momentum of my fall was too great and even the sailboard overturned! *shy* Almost at the same time I fell into the water, I felt something was wrapping around my left thigh and I felt numbness and tingling sensation growing along my left leg. I tried to look under the water surface and I saw the culprit, a jellyfish!!! I did not know what to do seriously and my sailboard overturned, remember? So I can’t get myself out of the water to prevent further sting! I just kept treading water with my feet in the attempt to free my thigh off the tentacles. By doing so, I think I accidentally kicked the slimy “head” of the jellyfish and it then left me alone! Haha!

I shouted, “Sue, I got stung by jellyfish!!! How?!”

Sue: are you feeling anything abnormal?

Me: the pain is bearable…

Sue: then it’s ok!

Oh! It is that simple? I actually worried that more jellyfish will come attack me because I still remained in the water but I had to patiently wait for Max to deliver those from second batch to their sailboards and to help me turn my board back up again! I manja to Max when he finally came to my rescue, “Max, I got stung by jellyfish, will I die?”

Max: You won’t! Just be yourself!

:p

So, while bearing with the pricking pain, I continued my “get onto the board-try to get into secure position but fail and fall-get back up again” routine. Until one point when my body thought I had enough falls already that I miraculously stood stably on the board and in my secure position and I started sailing! I actually couldn’t tell where was the wind coming from and how to better steer my sail but heck, as long as I fared! :p When I managed to sail, my mind kept replaying a German statement that I learned many years back:

“Es fährt sehr gut!” 😉

Because I only could sail without having proper control of the direction, I almost reached the breakwater and one of the yellow columns (our limit of sailing). I sent out an SOS signal in Max’s direction i.e. waving my hands up in the air and he towed my sail and brought me using his powerboat to somewhere in between the 2 yellow poles and I got to sail again. It actually feels really good to sail, like 乘风破浪!

2 hours elapsed since we were sent out to the sea and it’s the end of our windsurfing. Powerboats sent us back on shore. Once ashore, I got to know that CCY also got stung. The interesting question now was: what’s the remedy to the sting?

Information from the internet stated that (I am only researching while writing this post):-

For other jellyfish stings, soak or rinse the area in vinegar (acetic acid) for 15-30 minutes to stop the nematocysts from releasing their toxins. If you do not have vinegar available, rinse in sea water,70% isopropyl alcohol, or Safe Sea Jellyfish After Sting® pain relief gel. Do not use fresh water. Fresh water will cause the nematocysts to continue to release their toxin. For the same reason, do not rub the area, apply ice or hot water. 

Vinegar (3–10% aqueous acetic acid) may be used as a common remedy to help with box jellyfish stings, but not the stings of the Portuguese Man o’ War (which is not a true jellyfish, but a colony). …. Salt water may be used as an alternative if vinegar is unavailable, and may be preferred over vinegar. Fresh water is not usually used if the sting occurs in salt water, as changes intonicity can release additional venom. Rubbing wounds, or using alcohol, spirits, ammonia, or urine may have strongly negative effects as these can encourage the release of venom.

Opps…. After coming ashore, I rinsed my wound with fresh water, sprayed something provided by the staff of the surfing centre, took a hot shower and only applied vinegar 7 hours after the sting… But luckily Taur did not really pee on my wound! :p

the aftermath

the aftermath

Before going into the sea, I kept reciting Sue’s jellyfish encounter and even joked about having Taur to pee on the wound if anyone is so unlucky to get the sting. Friends said this is “law of attraction”, like I summoned the jellyfish… Max also said it’s very rare that people got stung at that side of the sea… Oh well…

The pricking pain persisted until the next morning! Jellyfish, welcome on board after leeches to be another creature that I loathe! The good thing is: I can’t really eat leeches to revenge but I can eat you and the look-alike of you (i.e. those with tentacles)!!!*evil laughter*

We went home and rest respectively after the course and scheduled to have dinner together around 6pm.

Part 1: before the tripPart 2: taking train | Part 3: the sun and the beach! (a) | Part 4: ♥-ing SG!

0 Responses to “Singapore: the sun, the beach and the jellyfish! – Part 3 (b)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I spot you, creativity!

Series #9 Light bulb reuse!

Reflection of the day

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Inside the glass bottle…

“I want to walk tall, believe in myself, have the courage to ask for what I want and need, and live a life that mattered. I want to wake up in the morning with a smile on my face and know that I am loved and that I belonged. I am desperate to feel worthy and I am hungry for the opportunity to live my fullest potential.” - modified from "The Dark Side of the Light Chasers" - Debbie Ford

Under the apple tree…

"If you are not spending all of your waking life in discontent, worry, anxiety, depression, despair, or consumed by other negative states; if you are able to enjoy simple things like listening to the sound of the rain or the wind; if you can see the beauty of clouds moving across the sky or be alone at times without feeling lonely or needing the mental stimulus of entertainment; if you find yourself treating a complete stranger with heartfelt kindness without wanting anything from him or her... it means that a space has opened up, no matter how briefly, in the otherwise incessant stream of thinking that is the human mind." - A New Earth, by Eckhart Tolle

Blog Stats since Dec 2010

  • 52,048 hits

Ich lese….

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The time keeper by Mitch Albom

The art of thinking clearly by Rolf Dobelli

The first phone call from heaven by Mitch Albom

Inferno by Dan Brown

For one more day by Mitch Albom

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose by Eckhart Tolle

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

A study in scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

The five people you meet in heaven by Mitch Albom

Have a little faith by Mitch Albom

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

To kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The Brain that Changes Itself by Norman Doidge

Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren

A Fresh Start by John Chapman

Inspiring quotes!

If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other? (God in "Evan Almighthy")
“To love another person is to see the face of God.” ― Victor Hugo, Les Misérables
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” -Mark Twain
Aggie: "But what about the people who hurt you? Don't you ever want to make them suffer?" Norman Babcock: "Well, yeah, but what good would that do? You think just because there's bad people that there's no good ones either? I thought the same thing for a while. But there's always someone out there for you. Somewhere." - Paranorman
"机遇总是偏爱有准备的人"
“You're only here for a short visit. Don't hurry, don't worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.” by Walter Hagen
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, body totally worn out and screaming "WOOOHOOOO what a ride!" - by anonymous
When you travel, it’s not like you take a part of each place away with you; rather, it’s as if you leave a part of yourself there, like a part of you forever belongs to that place – the time, the people, and the things you saw; and over time, it gets burned deeper into your soul - by anonymous

