The ________ in me

Fill in the blanks! 

Environmentalist

When I was in Standard 6, I chose to write about environmental issue in the essay-writing competition when most friends chose to write narrative or descriptive essays. I had already forgotten the given title, but I remember writing something about the hole in ozone layer, we need to love our mother earth and that it’d be a sad scene if we finally have to wear protective layers to shield ourselves from UV before going under the sun. I also recall I got frustrated about myself because I forgot how to write 紫 for 紫外线 (this would jeopardize my chance of winning the competition! Kiasuness in me! Haha!). I was the 2nd runner-up for the competition. 🙂

When I was still an undergraduate, I always requested my roommates to put paper that they wanted to throw away into the special bag that I prepared so that I could send that for recycling later. HL asked in perplexity one day, “Why the fuss? With your effort alone, you really think you can save the world?!” I quoted the starfish story I once read about, and I said, “At least the change starts with me!”

I went on campaigning about “reduce, reuse and recycle” even when I started working :p

Campaigning in Sg. Siput office

Campaigning in Sg. Siput office

Photo taken by zabo skype in 2007maggie cup = my pen-stand

Photo taken by zabo see khee in 2007
maggie cup = my pen stand

Me: I’m taking train (to Mid Valley), save me the trouble of finding car park.

Sue: You are one of the rare friends taking public transport in KL.

I really have genuine interest in environmental stuff and even considered to change my career path to become an environmental engineer. My “hard sell-ing” parlance while looking for environmental jobs: During the pursuit of my undergraduate degree, I developed interest in environmental engineering and hydrology. To pursue this further, I had taken the bold step of undertaking a year-long coursework masters in environmental engineering after serving the obliged 4-year bond with the sponsor of my undergraduate studies. Hehe :p

Meow

When I was a kid, once I woke up from my nap in the afternoon, I always stood by the door of the rear end of grandparents’ house and started yelling “meow meow meow meow meow meow….” for a good 2 minutes or so and thinking concurrently: White (my favorite cat), come back and play with me!!! This worked like miracle: White always responded to my summons and came back!

For this, I used to have this conjecture: if I focus my mind and think of what I want to tell the cats, and meow out, cats will get my message.

Introducing the 2 most significant cats in my life so far: This's Black! I used to think I could communicate with them!

Introducing the 2 most significant cats in my life so far: This’s Black!
I used to think I could communicate with them!

It's a shame that this photo is the only memento I have of White, my favourite cat...

It’s a shame that this photo is the only memento I have of White, my favourite cat…

Card-maker

If time permits, I like to make cards for friends and family.

My last piece of work, made in 2011

My last piece of work, made in 2011

Not just making cards, I also like paper craft! I managed to put my hobby to good use at work one day: I tried to highlight the oversight in design to the consultant via writing and tele-discussion but in vain. In the end, I made a to-scale model of the bridge, sent the following photos to the consultant and my message got across! 🙂

photos

 

Part 2 | Part 3

0 Responses to “The ________ in me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

I spot you, creativity!

Series #9 Light bulb reuse!

Reflection of the day

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 43 other followers

Inside the glass bottle…

“I want to walk tall, believe in myself, have the courage to ask for what I want and need, and live a life that mattered. I want to wake up in the morning with a smile on my face and know that I am loved and that I belonged. I am desperate to feel worthy and I am hungry for the opportunity to live my fullest potential.” - modified from "The Dark Side of the Light Chasers" - Debbie Ford

Under the apple tree…

"If you are not spending all of your waking life in discontent, worry, anxiety, depression, despair, or consumed by other negative states; if you are able to enjoy simple things like listening to the sound of the rain or the wind; if you can see the beauty of clouds moving across the sky or be alone at times without feeling lonely or needing the mental stimulus of entertainment; if you find yourself treating a complete stranger with heartfelt kindness without wanting anything from him or her... it means that a space has opened up, no matter how briefly, in the otherwise incessant stream of thinking that is the human mind." - A New Earth, by Eckhart Tolle

Blog Stats since Dec 2010

  • 52,987 hits

Ich lese….

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

The time keeper by Mitch Albom

The art of thinking clearly by Rolf Dobelli

The first phone call from heaven by Mitch Albom

Inferno by Dan Brown

For one more day by Mitch Albom

A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life's Purpose by Eckhart Tolle

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez

A study in scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

The five people you meet in heaven by Mitch Albom

Have a little faith by Mitch Albom

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

To kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The Brain that Changes Itself by Norman Doidge

Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren

A Fresh Start by John Chapman

Inspiring quotes!

If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does he give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does he give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does he give them opportunities to love each other? (God in "Evan Almighthy")
“To love another person is to see the face of God.” ― Victor Hugo, Les Misérables
“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” -Mark Twain
Aggie: "But what about the people who hurt you? Don't you ever want to make them suffer?" Norman Babcock: "Well, yeah, but what good would that do? You think just because there's bad people that there's no good ones either? I thought the same thing for a while. But there's always someone out there for you. Somewhere." - Paranorman
"机遇总是偏爱有准备的人"
“You're only here for a short visit. Don't hurry, don't worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.” by Walter Hagen
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, body totally worn out and screaming "WOOOHOOOO what a ride!" - by anonymous
When you travel, it’s not like you take a part of each place away with you; rather, it’s as if you leave a part of yourself there, like a part of you forever belongs to that place – the time, the people, and the things you saw; and over time, it gets burned deeper into your soul - by anonymous

